An interview that failed to elicit my sympathy

by Caleb Reading

So I was just watching NBC news (which was my first mistake), and they were doing a story about rising gasoline prices. They interviewed a young woman at the pump about how the prices were effecting her, and she said, I kid you not, “I, like, can’t go as many places and, like, I can’t order dessert sometimes when I go out to eat.”

Oh the horror. I guess I’m supposed to feel sorry for her, except I haven’t been out to eat in months, and I never order a dessert if I’m ordering an entree. Seriously, NBC couldn’t have waited at the pump for an extra ten minutes to find a better example of someone hurt by rising gas prices? Not being able to order dessert when you’re paying someone else to cook your dinner isn’t exactly making me cry a river over here.

