I think this may qualify as irony

by robopanda

Via hamptonroads:

GuideOne, a major church insurer based in Iowa, estimated that 85 percent of the company’s 45,000 church clients chose terrorism insurance.

“These are churches across the country, not concentrated in specific areas,” spokeswoman Emily Abbas said in an e-mail.

To James Valverde , a risk management expert at the Insurance Information Institute in New York City , the religious xenophobia of Islamic terrorists is reason to worry.

“Given the religious fervor and underlying ideology in which this jihad is being pursued, it’s not completely out of the realm of possibility to assume that Christian churches would be on the receiving end of terrorist attacks,” he said. “It hasn’t occurred yet, but that’s not to say it couldn’t happen.”

A bunch of little midwest churches in overwhelmingly Christian towns worried about religious fervor? So am I. I’m living in rural Iowa right now, and it’s not Muslim extremists I’m wary of. I don’t think any cornfields are going to be attacked by al Qaeda, but the evangelical movement is exploding around here, and a lot of these people honestly believe athiests like me worship Satan and gays like me are out to ruin their marriages and pimp out their kids or something. It’s hard out here for a pimp.

