Seven state constitutions discriminate against atheists

by Caleb Reading

Two examples:

Article 6 Section 8 of North Carolina’s State Constitution
“Disqualifications of office. The following persons shall be disqualified for office: First, any person who shall deny the being of Almighty God.”

Article 9 Section 2 of Tennessee’s State Constitution
“No person who denies the being of God, or a future state of rewards and punishments, shall hold any office in the civil department of this state.”